Hawick Community Council



MINUTES OF INAUGURAL MEETING OF HAWICK COMMUNITY COUNCIL held on Monday 11th September 2023 within the Lesser Town Hall, Hawick

Present	Jim Adams	Stuart Beck
	Braden George	Wilson George
	Margaret Hogg	Cameron Knox
	Stuart Mactaggart	Kevin Marsh
	Michael Robertson	Duncan Taylor
	Euan Welsh	

Attending:	Councillor McAteer	Councillor Marshall
	Councillor Ramage	Councillor Smart

The meeting was chaired by Councillor Marshall as Returning Officer.

There were 7 members of the public in attendance, along with Graham Ford, Hawick Paper.

1. Welcome and Introduction – Councillor Marshall welcomed everyone to the Inaugural Meeting of Hawick Community Council and thanked them for their attendance. He thanked Scottish Borders Council, the Hawick Paper and particularly the Contact Centre and the Library for their help during the election process. He also apologised for any confusion around the agendas and times for the meeting.

He reminded everyone that the meeting would be recorded by the Hawick Paper and by HCC for reporting and minuting purposes.

- 2. Apologies for Absence Apologies for absence were received from Marion Short and Councillor Cox.
- **3.** Membership of Community Council The Returning Officer advised he was delighted that there were 12 members appointed, with interest also he had heard from another two members of the public for co-option.

Councillor Marshall read out the following as appointed members: Mr Wilson George, Mr Duncan Taylor, Mrs Marion Short, Mr Jim Adams, Mr Cameron Knox, Mr Robert Mactaggart (known as Stuart Mactaggart), Mrs Margaret Hogg, Mr Braden George, Mr Stuart Beck, Mr Kevin Marsh, Mr Michael Robertson and Mr Euan Welsh

He thanked those listed on behalf of the whole town for putting themselves forward to work on Hawick Community Council, a very busy forum.

4. Appointment of Chair -

Cameron Knox – Proposed by Stuart Beck and seconded by Stuart Mactaggart. Marion Short - Proposed by Margaret Hogg and seconded by Jim Adams.

There being two nominations, a secret ballot then took place. The Returning Officer advised of the voting outcome – Cameron Knox 9 votes and Marion Short 2 votes. Cameron Knox was duly elected to the position of Hawick Community Council Chair.

5. Appointment of Vice-Chair -

Kevin Marsh – Proposed by Michael Robertson and seconded by Wilson George. Marion Short – Proposed by Margaret Hogg and seconded by Duncan Taylor.

There being two nominations, another secret ballot then took place. The Returning Officer advised of the voting outcome – Kevin Marsh 8 votes and Marion Short 3 votes. Kevin Marsh was duly elected to the position of Hawick Community Council Vice-Chair.

6. Appointment of Secretary –

Margaret Hogg – Proposed by Braden George and seconded by Duncan Taylor. There were no other nominations and Margaret Hogg was duly appointed again as Secretary.

7. Appointment of Treasurer –

Jim Adams – Proposed by Cameron Knox and seconded by Kevin Marsh. There were no other nominations and Jim Adams was duly appointed again as Treasurer.

- 8. Any Other Business None.
- **9.** Date of next meeting The next meeting of HCC would be held on Monday, 9th October at 6.30pm within the Lesser Town Hall, Hawick. He advised that members would be furnished with HCC's Constitution, Code of Conduct for signing, and the Scheme for Community Councils (currently under review) prior to that meeting.

Councillor Marshall thanked everyone again for their attendance and wished Hawick Community Council the very best going forward. He was sure it would go from strength to strength.

The meeting was then concluded.